Regina Carter, where have you been all my life?

image of CD coverSo, this is what’s on repeat play right now, and when I say right now I mean that it has been for the last week and will continue to be for the foreseeable future. She is playing Paganini’s famous “Cannone” violin, although I’m sure she’d sound equally awesome on my 7yo son’s crappy little factory-made quarter-size fiddle.

Full disclosure: I have a thing for Ravel, particularly the piece that happens to be the first track on this album, the Pavane pour une infante défunte. It’s a funny thing, that. Because as far as classical music goes, I’m a German Romantics girl through and through. If its name starts with B or Schu, it’s mine. But one day I was over at my mom’s house and we stumbled across a duet book with a very nice arrangement of the Pavane, and in one fell swoop I saw the light. That was several years ago, and I’ve been listening to Louis Lortie’s recording of the complete works almost daily, ever since.

I also have a thing for Astor Piazzola, for reasons which I will not disclose here (feel free to use your imagination) as well as that deliciously cheesy Fauré Pavane, and she’s got both of those on this recording as well. So I was extremely predisposed to like this album. Yeah, I probably would have liked it even if she wasn’t such an incredible musician playing on the world’s most famous violin. But she is, and she did, and oh my!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. hello mo, I write a sort of music appreciation blog, and i’m working on a series of posts on ravel and aspects of modernism, and thought you might be interested to read. i’m a huge fan of ravel, particularly his later works.

    cheers,
    andrew
    http://asiyclassical.wordpress.com/

    Reply
    • Andrew, thanks for stopping by! I will definitely check out your blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

