Boost your self esteem for a whole day!

I’m serious! I’ve discovered a fool-proof way to make you feel absolutely great about yourself. Unfortunately the great feeling only lasts for one day, but if you do it often enough you’ll be on top on the world.

The answer, my friends, is crockpot cooking.

First of all, crockpot cooking requires advance planning. If you’re going to be cooking first thing in the morning you probably had to buy your ingredients the day before. Therefore you knew yesterday what you were planning to do today. So that means you are an organized person. Way to go!

Second, crockpot cooking means you cooked from scratch, and with some fresh ingredients. You probably made a soup or stew, and it most likely has some veggies in it that you chopped yourself. So that means you’re eating healthy! Woo hoo!

Third, crockpots use less energy than conventional ovens. Yay! You’re being green!

And of course, your house smells good all day long. So you’ve got a constant reminder of what a great person you are. VoilĂ ! Instant self esteem!

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Spartacus

     /  January 4, 2011

    Is a crockpot the same as a slow-cooker? If so I have one of those (well my fiancee does) and used it the other day to cook some beef to go in a pie. It was absolutely beautifully tender and delicious so a very rewarding experience! Tomorrow I’m working from home so I’m in charge of cooking dinner and the plan is lasagne (I’m fairly limited in what I can make). I’m wondering if I can/should make the bolognese for the lasagne in the slow-cooker/crockpot (if it is indeed the same thing!).

    Reply
  2. That is, actually, quite an interesting self-esteem suggestion. I like it (a lot). My girlfriend has been telling me to get a crockpot for quite some time and I’m really thinking of just doing it. As you’ve mentioned in your post, there are certainly wonderful reasons to do it!

    Also, good luck on fulfilling the postaday2011 challenge! I’m doing the same challenge and found your post on the postaday2011 site! Take care and thanks again for the suggestion! :)

    Reply
  3. Spartacus, yes, a crockpot is the same as a slow cooker. I haven’t tried making pasta sauce in mine but a friend of mine does it all the time and it always comes out great. I mostly use mine for soup. Good luck with yours tomorrow!

    Dorothy, you should get one! I waited for years before I finally caved in and bought one. I was so sure it would just end up gathering dust along with the rice cooker, waffle iron, fondue pot, etc. Little did I dream how smug it would make me feel. :-) Thanks for your good wishes, and same to you!

    Reply
  4. I love my slow-cooker. You can make your sauce in it, and your lasagna! Use the no-cook noodles, and more sauce than you normally would (about a cup more). The noodles will brown at the edges just like when you cook it in the oven.
    Kim

    Reply
  5. No kidding? Would you share the recipe? (That could be your next daily post…)

    I once made macaroni and cheese in the crockpot and it was so revolting even the dog wouldn’t eat it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

