Good news today

I found out today that my pet nonprofit is going to be able to pay me for the work I’ve been doing. I can’t tell you how happy I am about this. I’ve been wanting to do this for so long. It’s been ages since I’ve been this excited about a job.

The thing about me is I have a short attention span. I’ve been freelancing for about five years, and that’s two years too many for my comfort. I’ve never had two jobs in a row that were in the same field. I’ve never used my advanced degree because once I got it I had no more interest in the profession. I’m a total dilettante, jack of all trades and master of none. Not that that’s a bad thing, though it means I don’t really have a “career” in the usual sense of the word. Sometimes I envy people who are able to spend their whole lives focusing on one thing and getting really good at it… but who am I kidding? Such a life would drive me crazy.

So, anyway… at the moment my driving passion is for this little nonprofit and I am so thrilled that I have an excuse to taper off on the freelance work. Oh thank you thank you thank you…!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Congratulations on getting paid for your freelance work! I’m looking forward to hearing about your work (hopefully, in a future post?)!

    Reply
  2. Aw, thanks! My freelance gig was mostly web design with some desktop publishing, editing and proofreading thrown in. My new job with the nonprofit is kind of an outgrowth of that: a mix of marketing, administrative, fundraising, you name it, whatever needs to be done that day… Can you see the gleam in my eye?

    Reply
  3. Thanks!!!

    Reply
  4. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

