Me and The Frizz

Yeah, I found myself thinking about Ms. Frizzle again today. Did you ever watch The Magic Schoolbus? I used to watch it all the time with Jay when he was little. Watched it so often that those kids — Ralphie, Arnold, Keisha, Dorothy Ann — they felt practically like members of my own family. And The Frizz, why, she’s my BFF.

“Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!”

That’s her favorite phrase, and mine too. I think it’s particularly apt for those of us postaday-ers who have stern Inner Editors. Why are we so afraid of making mistakes?

My new job is really pushing me to take chances. I’m forging into (for me) new territory involving things like long-term planning… asking for money… telling people no… figuring out how and what to delegate… dealing with personalities… I have to take chances. I have to get messy. I know I will make mistakes.

Yee-haw! Onward and upward!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Wow! You are a mom, you’re taking on a new job and the post a day challenge?
    Thank you for being on this journey. You are helping me to stay motivated.

    Reply
  2. BTW, I forgot to tell you that I love this post! I’ve been back here several times to re-read it.

    When you mentioned the “stern Inner Editor,” I immediately saw an image of myself standing over my own inner student, red pen in one hand and a ruler in the other. Yikes!

    I love The Magic School Bus. And I love the whole concept of “Take chances! Make mistakes! Get messy!” Ms. Frizzle is a fantastic role model for my new and improving inner editor.

    I wish you great adventures at work, at home and here on your blog!

    Reply
  3. Thank you, Rhonda! Coming back to re-read it… that is the best compliment ever! I’m so glad if I’ve helped you feel motivated.

    Reply
  4. I remember The Magic School Bus. My kids didn’t watch it so much that I’d remember that line. (My daughter was obsessed with Arthur.) But it’s a great line, and one I want to remember, especially since I’ve got one of those inner editors too. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

