Teach yourself graphic design!

Remember the instant self-esteem boost? Well here’s another one for ya: instant new career. Seriously! I read (ok, memorized) this book and based my entire freelance career on what I learned from it. The book is charming and funny and has great examples, but what it boils down to is this. There are four principles of design: Contrast, Repetition, Alignment and Proximity. (As the author points out, they make a great acronym, too.) And that’s pretty much all you need. My favorite one is alignment. I wouldn’t ignore the other three, but if you could only focus on one, alignment would be my choice. It’s amazing how much better a document looks if you keep your headings left-aligned instead of centering them. Center alignment is fine for wedding invitations, natch, but otherwise not with a ten-foot pole.

Okay then. Click on the (left-aligned!) book cover for the indiebound listing. I think there is a newer edition, but this is the one I have. Enjoy your new career!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. This is a pretty decent book. I own it and it’s pretty helpful! Ironically, I purchased it when I was taking Graphic Design courses in art school and wondering…Why am I even in art school?!?! LOL!

    Reply
  2. Just ordered it, cheap. I need all the help I can get! Thanks for the recommendation!

    Reply
  3. Dorothy, ha ha, just think how much time and money you could have saved! ;-)

    Carlaat, that’s great! I hope you’ll come back and let me know what you think of it.

    Reply
  1. All About Writing | Rhonda A. Johnson

Leave a Reply

