Well I never been to Spain…

This morning I am drawing a blank on what to write about. I have several drafts started but none of them appeal to me right now. Maybe the daily prompt? Let’s see. Today’s prompt is “Do you believe everything happens for a reason? Why or why not?” Ewwwww! No way am I answering that one! Guess I’ll have to go farther back… Okay, here are three countries I’d like to visit.

Spain

To be specific, Barcelona. Because I don’t want to die without having seen firsthand the work of Antoni Gaudí. In case you are not familiar with this architect, just think Dr. Seuss:

photo of apartment building at night

Casa Milà, by Antoni Gaudí (1905–1912)

Pretty incredible, huh. I don’t think there’s a straight line or a square corner in there anywhere.

Ukraine

To be specific, Radomyshl. This is the town from whence my grandmother fled during the 1919 pogroms. Here’s a picture of the main drag as it looked when she lived there.

painting of the street, with buildings on either side

Rusanovskaya Street in Radomyshl about 100 years ago.

I found this image on a very interesting website. Definitely worth poking around, especially if you have a shtetl in your family tree.

Tanzania

To be specific, Olduvai Gorge. Continuing along the theme of family history, ha ha, Olduvai Gorge is the fossil site where the Leakeys did most of their life’s work. It was a huge contribution to our understanding of human evolution, a topic I find endlessly fascinating.

desertlike scrubby landscape

Olduvai Gorge, aka The Cradle of Humankind

Hmmmmm. I’m starting to have second thoughts about this one. To be honest, although I love the idea of visiting the Gorge, now that I look at this picture I’m not sure I would actually want to go there. It looks pretty dismal, doesn’t it. And like I said on my about page, although I love nature in the abstract I really do prefer cities.

Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Spain looks like a very interesting place to visit. My husband and I were just talking the other day about how we wish we could afford to travel more. We have never been out of the USA but even just to travel more in the the states to places like the Grand Canyon and Washington DC would be neat and would be fun for the kids too. Maybe someday …. when our ship comes in ~ LOL :)

    Reply
  2. Yeah, we’re waiting for that ship too! And traveling is so much more complicated with young kids in the mix. We can barely even make it to my grandma’s house, a four-hour drive away.

    Reply
  3. Sweet choices! As much as I would love to go to Germany, Italy, and Japan…

    I would like to take another trip to the Philippines, specifically, to:

    The Chocolate Hills – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chocolate_Hills and Puerto Princesa Subterranean River National Park – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Puerto_Princesa_Subterranean_River_National_Park

    One day…

    Reply
  4. I think the countries I’d like to visit are Maui, Maui and Maui. Besides, as Marcel Proust said, “The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new landscapes but in having new eyes” I’m not much of a traveler, although I did enjoy London.

    Reply
  5. Dorothy, wow, I’ve never heard of those Chocolate Hills before. They look amazing! I’m guessing from your comment that you’ve been there before, you lucky duck.

    Oldereyes, have to say I disagree with Proust. I am totally seeking new landscapes! :-)

    Reply
  6. Mo, I’ve long had the fantasy of taking my family on a year long boat trip. Wouldn’t you know it, I married a man who hates the water! Now I’ve set my sights on a road trip out to California and back. Hopefully someday soon…
    Kim

    Reply
  7. You’re right – Barcelona is beautiful! I was lucky enough to get to go for free on a school trip where I used to teach. It was a magical ten days in Spain and France. And Olduvai Gorge – I got to go there in college. I actually spent a semester in Kenya. Yeah, I have been lucky! But your impressions are right and it looks just like that picture – not really much to see . . .

    I don’t know where we’re headed next – although Australia/New Zealand is definitely on the list!

    Reply
  8. Kim, we’ve thought about the boat trip too. My husband loves boats as much as I do, but even so it seems like an impossible undertaking. We’ve also thought about Live In An RV For A Year, but I can’t see that happening in real life either.

    Carlaat, dang, I am jealous! Down under sounds fantastic too. As soon as I hit publish on that post I thought of all the other countries I’d like to visit. It was so hard to pick just three!

    Reply
  9. i have been to barcelona and loved it dispite the rain and becoming really ill as was dehydrated on the plane !! i dont really likke travelling as got aspegers !! and panic

    Reply

Leave a Reply

