Vent? You want me to VENT???

Most of the daily prompts have been stupid not really my thing, but this one: “What’s going on in your life right now that’s driving you nuts?” — oh ho, the timing could not be more perfect because I have a great big grievance welling up inside me. Here goes.

I am fucking sick and tired of being the only person who cares about stuff. There is only so much you can force another person to do.

Example. Over the years I have taken quite a bit of flak from my parents about being late for things. My parents believe it’s disrespectful to be late and so do I. Left to my own devices, I am on time. But I have three kids and a husband who none of them give a shit about punctuality. I can tell them we need to be there half an hour earlier than the actual time and we are still ten or twenty minutes late. And you should see me going hurry up, hurry up; put on your shoes; where’s your jacket; Hubby dear, this probably isn’t the best time to start that new project; no wait where are you going come back here we have to go to grandma and grandpa’s house — you get the picture. I can hustle and nag until my voice gives out but it’s like herding fucking cats. And then we arrive late and my mom gives me flak. Like I don’t already hate being late because she raised me well and I believe it’s rude to be late.

Actually, I’ve kind of made my peace with that situation. I have accepted the fact that I can’t herd cats. I’m not late for my own appointments, after all. No, I let my mom’s flak wash right over me because I am the duck and she is the water rolling off my back. So, I’m certainly not beating myself up over this, but it is still frustrating that I can’t make us be on time.

But now the same thing is happening at work. We have a big deadline suddenly looming that we’ve known about for months and I’ve been trying to get the information I need from the people who ought to have it, and I’ve been hustling and nagging and once again herding fucking cats. Do I care more about this than my boss? Is that the problem? Or am I not nagging properly? Or is it just my bad luck to be surrounded by people who mean well but can’t put two thoughts together in a linear fashion to save their lives?

And while it’s fine to be the duck with my mom, work is infinitely more complicated because we’re not just late for dinner. There are consequences to missing this deadline. And there are personalities and politics and complexities to this situation that I cannot even begin to describe, not least of which is the fact that I am very deeply emotionally invested in this endeavor.

What a mess of a post this is. Every bone in my body is going delete delete delete but what the hell I’m gonna hit publish NOW.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I SO understand this! Same thing in our house.

    Oh, and I love this one. When the holidays roll around, we always bring something to contribute to the meal if it’s not being held at our own house. I always check with the host/hostess a couple weeks ahead to see what they would like us to bring. When the big day arrives and we have to be where we’re supposed to be in a couple of hours, the hubby will ask, “Are we supposed to bring something?” … Yeah. Got that taken care of already. Thanks for your help.

    LOL. It’s the nature of things.

    Reply
  2. Good for you! I think this is a great post and people need a forum to voice their opinions, frustrations, and observations. I’m glad you posted this and unapologetic about it. Again, good for you!

    Reply
  3. Hey they said to VENT and this is exactly what venting is like … just let it all come out and don’t worry about what people will think. We all need to vent every once in a while or we might spontaneously combust ! LOL Great post !! :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

