A mushy sentimental blog post

Soooooo, I was thinking it would be nice to write a contemplative wrap-up kind of thing to celebrate the fact that I actually did write 31 posts during the month of January.

As I think I’ve mentioned before, I have no trouble thinking up topics to write about. I mean, geez, just look around. There are topics everywhere! But you know what, I do find it extremely challenging to write about my own inner life: my thoughts, experiences, hopes, dreams, frustrations, struggles, that kind of thing. My Meyer-Briggs type is INTJ, from which you might infer (correctly) that 1) I am a very private person who 2) is not particularly in touch with her feelings. That venting post from the other day? Strange as it may seem, that was very tough for me to write.

But guess what. Going through the (for me, difficult) process of figuring out why I was so annoyed with this situation at work, realizing that one of the reasons my buttons were being pushed was because I have a similar problem at home, etc., helped me to clarify some issues. I ended up having really good talks with several of my colleagues and as a result we are all able to move forward on this project with new energy. Yay! I’m not sure I could have accomplished this (at least, not as efficiently) if I hadn’t written that blog post.

Thank you, postaday.

And thank you, my dear readers. I am humbled and grateful to have you here. Because of this work situation I’ve not been able to respond to comments and check up on my subscriptions as frequently as I would like, but I’m looking forward to catching up very soon.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. OK, when are we going to do the mushy and sentimental? :) Putting yourself on the page is always scary but it gets easier with practice. Maybe not easier but more habitual. Keep it up.

    Reply
  2. I think one of the biggest rewards of writing are those times like you’ve just experienced – when something tangible and rewarding comes of putting yourself out there. Congratulations on making it through the first month!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

