Snips & Snails

And puppy dog tails. Yeah, that pretty much sums up my 7yo son. He’s a boisterous noisy little whirlwind of activity who never seems to slow down for a second. He has a big heart and he means well, but he’s still very rough around the edges.

I don’t know why, but I had this crazy idea that he should learn to play the violin. I mean seriously, what was I thinking? Banging on a drum would be much more up his alley. The idea of this rambunctious little guy handling anything as delicate as a violin, let alone learning to play it? Oh ha ha ha!

He’s doing quite well with it, actually. He has a very musical ear, he’s a natural-born performer, and the physical aspects of playing the violin have come pretty easily to him. But where he tends to fall flat (sorry) is in the area of musical expression. See, he has his own ideas about how things should sound. For example, this Bach Minuet that his teacher says is supposed to sound “elegant”? Well this evening he told me he made up a story to go with it.

“Okay, here are the knights at their home base,” he says, and plays the opening section of the piece. “They’re calm and happy.” Plays some more. “Okay, pretty soon a battle is going to start.” Wades into the second half of the piece. “The battle is getting bigger.” Deeper into the second half. “And now the battle is over!” Finishes off the song with a flourish.

This is a minuet! A stately 17th-century dance. And the kiddo is picturing knights in battle???

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Ha ha ha. How cute! I thought my little guy would benefit from acoustic guitar lessons. My vision was a future Simon or Garfunkel. Next thing I know he’s jumping on the bed banging on his guitar, “Mom, look I’m the NBT (next big thing). Bats have wings/bats fly yeah/heavy metal rocks!”

    Reply
  2. An ear for music, a natural-born performer, and an imagination? What a GREAT combination for a budding musician. Hoping you’re well, Mo. It’s been a rough week and your posts definitely lift my spirits.

    Reply
  3. What I appreciate most about my oldest grandson is his imagination. Watching him, listening to his stories give me a glimpse back into being a child. Enjoy the imagination!

    Reply
  4. Loved this story! Missing your posts recently! Hope all is well!

    Reply
  5. Yes, I, too, am missing your posts. I hope everything is OK.

    Bud aka Older Eyes

    Reply
  6. Miss you, Mo. Hope all is well.
    Kim

    Reply
  7. Hey Mo – just wanted to check and make sure everything was OK. I miss your posts … Keep in touch! :)

    Lori (aka: playdough in the parsonage)

    Reply
  8. Thank you all! These comments really really really made my day and were the biggest reason I’m not completely giving up on postaday. Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

