A lukewarm book review

So we were out of town recently, lolling about in the Caribbean while the kids had a week off from school. (Before you get any ideas, no, this vacation was paid for entirely by grandma and grandpa, bless their generous hearts.) While there I read a ton! It felt so good! I bet I read a thousand pages over the course of the week. Amazing what no internet will do for ya.

One of the books I read was Walk Two Moons, by Sharon Creech. This is a kids’ book, a Newbery winner in fact. I don’t tend to read too much kidlit or even YA, but I made an exception in this case because. Because… man, there is no way I can tell you this without feeling like such a braggart! Ok, here goes. Because my 12yo daughter took it upon herself to ask her English teacher if she could borrow two copies of the book to take on vacation so that we could read it simultaneously and discuss it. Am I the luckiest mom in the world or what???

Well don’t tell my daughter, but I thought the book was not that great. It’s a pretty typical kids’ coming of age story. The main character learns to accept that she is motherless; she gets a wider perspective on life, the universe and everything; there are eccentric but loveable old people; and there is a mystery to be solved. It’s basically a dumbed-down version of To Kill a Mockingbird without the race issues, with less symbolism and more beating you over the head with the theme to make absolutely sure you get it. I’m sure it’s a great choice for a sixth grade English class, and I loved talking about it with Elle, but I wouldn’t recommend it unless you have a young bookworm to share it with.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Thanks for your lovely comment. That would be great if you send it to Sue, hopefully she’d be interested in my opinion. The Caribbean sounds great :)

    Reply
  2. I love those kinda vacations :) We are getting ready to go on vacation to Disney for Spring Break courtesy of Grandma and Grandpa ! The kids are thrilled and I’m just happy to go somewhere where it’s warm and sunny! :) I love reading all your book reviews because I can’t seem to even get half way through a book these days so it’s great to read your reviews.

    Reply
  3. I know what you mean. Warm and sunny is the ticket! Hope you have a great time!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

