What will change now that Osama is gone?

Shit. I promised myself that today I would answer the daily prompt no matter what it was. And then I looked to see what it was, and ugh.

I don’t have very good luck with predicting things of this nature. After 9/11 I was actually excited. I thought wow. Things are really gonna change around here. This country is going to be united. We’re gonna do great things. We’re gonna solve global warming. We’re gonna end terrorism and fix the Middle East problems for once and for all.

Hah.

So although I would like to believe that Osama’s death will bring about world peace and Obama’s re-election, I’ve been disappointed and disillusioned too many times. I don’t think his death is going to accomplish much of anything. Plus ça change, and all that.

I think this situation calls for a cute kitten pic. Notice how our clever girl is going after both my husband’s foot and the tip of her own tail in one fell swoop.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. A cute kitten pic is the BEST response to the Bin Laden situation that I’ve seen all day.

    I’m with you. I don’t have much faith that his death is the catalyst for the kind of change we really need.

    Reply
  2. That’s just what I needed! Thank you for the kitten pic. World peace through kitten pics, I say!

    Reply
  3. Mo

     /  May 3, 2011

    Yep, cute kittens are the universal panacea. My husband once proposed that the US should drop thousands of kittens (with little parachutes) into war-torn areas like Afghanistan. Who could possibly keep fighting in the face of that???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

